Election season is in full swing. Quebec is in the middle of a provincial campaign, and the US is heading towards an election in November. Now it’s time for the First Nation of Whapmagoostui to get into the voting spirit.

With nominations wrapped up on August 8, Whapmagoostui is holding elections on Tuesday, August 28.

Up for grabs are the positions of Chief, Deputy Chief, Woman Councillor and the regular council seats. For the position of Chief, the incumbent Stanley George will be facing off against Lost Mamianskum, who held the post from 2006-2009.

In the running for Deputy Chief is incumbent Victoria George paring up against Frances Kawapit, Jr., George Masty, Elijah Sandy, John Shem, and Louisa Wynne. The candidates for Woman Councillor are incumbent Jean Masty, Laura Ekoomiak George, Diane George Dick and Flossie Sheshamush Wynne.

For the regular councillor seats there are 15 candidates in total for six seats with four defending their positions being Donnie Dick, William Kawapit, Roger Sandy and Robbie Masty. Their challengers are Allan House, Rebecca Kawapit, Benjamin Masty, James Masty, Matthew Petagumskum, Bruno Sheshamush, Brian Wynne, Jacob Dick, Annette Masty, Isaac Masty and Noah Sheshamush.

Remember, your ballot is your voice. So vote.