It is that time of year when Quebec’s community newspapers look back and take stock of their efforts. Here in Quebec we send the stories to the Quebec Community Newspapers Association and they send them to judges from outside the province.
As editor-in-chief I am proud of the 12 nominations and one honourable mention we have received for 2012. We are guaranteed first, second or third place and this shows the calibre and professionalism of the people working here at the Nation.
Even though writers, columnists, and reporters get a lot of the credit for the stories, it is a team effort that makes it possible. Thanks to all the Nation staff whose teamwork created tangible results.
In two categories we have two of the three nominations and this is something to be proud of. At the end of the day it is the people of Eeyou Istchee and their stories that make all this possible. It shows what a dynamic nation and people we are.

The Nation is nominated for:
Best Special Section: The Nation
Best Feature Story: Amy German
Best Business Story: Jesse Staniforth
Honourable Mention (business story): Mark Della Posta
Best Arts and Entertainment Story: Martin Siberok
Best Column Writing: Xavier Kataquapit, Lyle Stewart
Best Editorial (local affairs): Daniel David, Will Nicholls
Bob Phillips Award for the Best Editorial (general): Will Nicholls
Best Education Story: Jesse Staniforth
Best News Photo: Lyle Stewart
Best Feature Photo: Will Nicholls