In a rather close vote, Lloyd Mayappo edged incumbent Edward Gilpin by a 123-113 score to take over the reins as Chief of the Cree Nation of Eastmain.

The results were announced and certified by Returning Officer Gregory Mayappo September 23.

Dorothy Gilpin was a distant third with 33 votes.

The position of Deputy Chief went to John Brown, who edged Norman Cheezo 159 votes to 67. Rita Gilpin held up the rear with 45 votes.

Daniel Mark-Stewart, Stanley Gilpin and Johnny Tomatuk beat out six other candidates for the three available positions as band councillors.