This year’s 14 National Aboriginal Achievement Award winners include author Tomson Highway, athlete Waneek Horn-Miller and former NHL coach Ted Nolan. The awards were given out at a gala evening March 16 in Edmonton.

The other winners: doctors Freda Ahenakew and Lindsay Crowshoe, Nunavut Elder and carver Mariano Aupilardjuk, filmmakers Roman Bittman and Zacharias Kunuk, political leaders Richard Nerysoo and Dr Harold Cardinal, B.C. Métis leader Fred House, former MP Leonard Marchand, Alberta youth Lance Relland, Senator Nicholas Sibbeston, B.C. environmentalist Mary Thomas and Vancouver entrepreneur Dolly Watts.