On November 22, Members of the Canadian Parliament recognized this year’s recipients of the 19th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards in the House of Commons. Following Question Period, Speaker Andrew Scheer hosted a reception in their honour. On November 24, a ceremony honouring the recipients was held in Vancouver’s Queen Elizabeth Theatre.

The award winners are:

•    Candace Sutherland, Manitoba – Youth Award

•    Earl Cook, Manitoba – Youth Award (posthumous)

•    Adam Beach, Manitoba – Arts

•    Chief Victor Buffalo, Alberta – Business & Commerce

•    Elder Dave Courchene Jr., Manitoba – Culture, Heritage & Spirituality

•    Dr. Leona Makokis, Alberta – Education

•    Richard Hardy, British Columbia – Environment & Natural Resources

•    Dr. Janet Smylie, Ontario – Health

•    Violet Ford, Newfoundland and Labrador – Law & Justice

•    Richard Wagamese, British Columbia – Media & Communications

•    The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Nunavut – Politics

•    Grand Chief Edward John, British Columbia – Politics

•    Minnie Grey, Quebec – Public Service

•    Richard Peter, British Columbia – Sports

•    Senator Gerry St. Germain, British Columbia – Lifetime Achievement Award

Administered by the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (NAAF), the awards celebrate those Aboriginal people who represent both excellence and the boundless promise inherent in communities of Indigenous people all across Canada. The NAAF honours those whose accomplishments make them role models to Indigenous youth.